2017 Madison City Chess Championship

Starts: Apr 21, 2017 @ 5:50 PM

Ends: Apr 22, 2017 @ 7:00 PM

The Second Annual Madison City Chess Championship

April 21-22, 2017
James Clemens High School

Time Control:  Game 90/d5.

First Round begins Friday evening at 6:00 p.m.; Three rounds on Saturday

Open section (K-3; 4-6; 7-12) of the City Chess Championship where any student in good standing who did not qualify for the Invitational section can still compete and play games with longer time controls to help prepare for the National chess tournament season.  This section is an open section with no residency limitation.

This is a USCF rated tournament.  Must be a member of the USCF to compete.

Tournament Details

Date: April 21-22, 2017

Deadline to Register:  Wednesday April 19th at 10:00 p.m.

Location:  James Clemens High School

Round Times: Fri (4/21): 6:00 p.m.; Sat (4/22): 9:00; 12:30; 4:00    Game 90/d5

Player Meeting:  Fri (4/21) at 5:50 p.m.

Awards Ceremony:  Open Section:  Immediately after the conclusion of the last round.  Invitational Section:  7 p.m. James Clemens Commons Area - next to Cafeteria

2017 Madison City Scholastic Chess Championship Qualifiers

The following are students residing in Madison, Alabama who have qualified to compete in the Invitational Section of the City Chess Championship.  They are automatically registered to compete.

High School (9th-12th Grade) Section

Chris Baker

Douglas Zhang

Michael Guthrie

Lawrence Zhang

William Spanier

Mark Skrabanek

Hugh Mitchell

Erin Kueck

Grace Billmann

Tyler Wessling

Junior High (7th-8th grade) Section

Om Badhe

Will Fox

Josh Lin

Will Cox

Jenson Wilhelm

Will Bao

Aubteen Pour-Biazar

Maanasi Limaye

Hayden Billmann

Ben Kosan


Elementary (4th-6th Grade) Section

Geon Park

Constance Wang

Victor Lundy

Ethan Xu

Shreya Sunil

Zachary Calinsky

Rishi Sethuraj

Ethan Kueck

Luke Chynoweth

Aasim Musani


Primary (K-3rd Grade) Section

Karsten Wallace

Caroline Wang

Xavier Bruni

Landon Drummond

Anaya Naphade

Artem Starenki

Ethan Van

Isabelle Park

Arnav Maskey

Sahithi Mynampally


*The winner of the Invitational in each age group/section will be declared the winner of the City Chess Championship for that age group/section.

Related Tournaments   Check out pairings and standings

2017 Madison City Chess Championship

Related Products   Check out what you can purchase

2017 City Chess Championship Open Section